As summer comes to an end there is a promise of new beginnings. Every August holds the anticipation of a new school year. This year held that promise as well as some apprehension as I began the year in a new school with new students and staff.
Over my career I have held many positions and should be used to change as that seems to be the path I have been on. This year felt different, I was excited for the challenge of a bigger school with more students and staff yet unsure of how my role would play out.
For the first time I have a vice principal. It is taking time to build our relationship and navigate our roles as we hit the road running at full speed. We spend as much face time as we can manage throughout our days getting to know each other as well as e-mails and texts into the evening. We realize that building a strong relationship and team will help us support our students and staff.
 The importance of building relationships should never be taken lightly as it is the foundation of what we do. As such, I have spent the majority of time learning about the people, big and small that I spend my days with while trying to balance the other responsibilities of my roles.
It is this journey of balance that I hope to reflect upon.
( I realize it is October already but September sped by in a blink of an eye.)
10/9/2013 10:39:48 am

Well said Joanne! Looking forward to reading more posts!

Reply
Neil MacNeil
10/9/2013 11:44:27 am

Good for you, Joanne. It can be really exciting to have a new opportunity like this, and it's great that you're feeling so positively about it.
You're so right about relationships; always people first.

Reply



Leave a Reply.